On Wednesday 24 August, p.50, the Mercury's football reporting included "Inside Football" by Steve Pumfrey in which refereeing was discussed. In particular, the first booking of City goalkeeper Kaspar Schmeichel on Saturday.
"...Schmeichel protested at the end of the match that he was unaware of the first yellow card he received for time wasting. Television evidence suggests Schmeichel had his back to goal when he was carded for the first time..."
Perhaps this should read "back to the referee"! If he had his back to the goal he would have seen the card!